Thursday, January 17, 2008

Third Incorporation: Rodrigo Archubi

River Plate have confirmed the arrival of Rodrigo Archubi on loan for six months. After his term with "la banda" concludes, "los millonarios" will have the possibility to purchase 50% of the transfer of the ex-Lanus player.

When everything indicated that he would joining the team last semester, the deal fell through. Fortunately enough, we were able to acquire Rodrigo this time around. He has signed his contract and will be traveling to Mar del Plata to meet and train with his fellow teammates tomorrow.

The arrival of Archubi will bring a lot of tranquility to Diego Simeone: the 22-year old is accustomed to playing both as a left-back and a left-winger, positions in which we currently lack talented players. Rodrigo knows how to attack and defend, and therefore pictures to be a vital part of Simeone's tactics. Statistically, he is also an interesting player: despite arriving from an unsuccessful season in Greece, he was able to play for Lanus's starting team for over four years and achieved a tournament title with the Argentine National U-20 team in the 2005 World Cup.

Having incoporated a defender (Gustavo Cabral), a midfielder (Rodrigo Archubi), and a foward (Sebastian Abreu) over this pre-season break, River Plate will be retiring from the transfer market sooner than later. A maximum of four player inscriptions are allowed over the Summer session in Argentina, meaning that "el cholo" could be looking to bring in one more player to complete his fantasy team.

As for tomorrow's game vs. Racing (second round of the Torneo de Verano 2008), River will once again use an alternative squad. The game will be shown on tape delay on Fox Soccer Channel at 8:00 PM Pacific / 11:00 PM Eastern Time, as well as on Fox Sports en Espanol at 12:00 AM Pacific / 3:00 AM Eastern Time.

No comments: